Materials Research Prize for Young Investigators

Main content

The ETH Materials Research Prize for Young Investigators recognizes outstanding contributions of young investigators that advance materials from fundamental to applied research. These contributions could include, for example: the discovery of new classes of materials, the observation of novel phenomena leading to either fundamentally new applications and insights, and work that substantially impacts our understanding or applications of existing materials and phenomena. The prize consists of CHF 10,000, a certificate citing the contribution of the recipient, and an allowance for travel to the ETH Materials Day at which the award is presented together with a keynote address by the prizewinner. The Materials Day is a biannual celebration at which the ETH Department of Materials presents its Research to Swiss academia, industry, and the public.

Establishment & Support

The prize is newly established in order to emphasize the fundamental role young researchers play in advancing materials science, spanning fundamental and applied research. It is endowed by the ETH Department of Materials and will be awarded biannually.

Rules & Eligibility

The prize is open to scientists of all nationalities irrespective of where their work has been carried out. Nominations shall be restricted to one per institution. To be eligible for the prize, the researcher should be an assistant professor (or an equivalent form of independent researcher) at the time of nomination.

Nomination & Selection Process

Deadline: Monday, July 31, 2017

For the nomination, please send the following to the Head of Department, Prof. Ralph Spolenak:

  • A letter of not more than two pages evaluating the qualifications of the nominee.
  • A biographical sketch, including publication list.
  • A list of the up to five most important publications.
  • Two seconding letters by individuals not connected to the nominee through advising relationships.

The selection will be conducted by three tenured professors of the Department of Materials and the Head of Department.

Page URL:
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich