Main content

23.05.2017 | Awards, Events, Information, News

Announcing the new Materials Research Prize for Young Investigators – Nominations now Accepted

The Materials Research Prize for Young Investigators is newly established in order to emphasize the fundamental role young researchers play in advancing materials science, spanning fundamental and applied research. It is endowed by the ETH Department of Materials and will be awarded biannually. Read more 

12.05.2017 | Awards

Alessandro Ofner Wins SNSF Scientific Image Competition Prize in the Category Video-Loop

Alessandro Ofner, doctoral student in the Complex Materials group, presented a video-loop showing massive multichannel microencapsulation. Read more 

09.05.2017 | Awards

Nicola Spaldin Has Been Elected a Fellow of the Royal Society

Nicola Spaldin, professor at Materials Theory (D-MATL), has been awarded a fellowship granted by the Royal Society of London for Improving Natural Knowledge. The admission to the Society will take place at a formal admissions day ceremony on Friday July 14, 2017. Read more 

04.05.2017 | Awards

Sinead M. Griffin Receives the Swiss Physical Society Prize 2017

The Swiss Physical Society Prize 2017, sponsored by ABB, will be awarded to Sinead M. Griffin, former PhD student of the Materials Theory group, for her "Outstanding computational physics research from cosmic string formation to multiferroics." Read more 

18.04.2017 | Awards

Markus Niederberger Chosen as Outstanding Reviewer for Materials Horizons in 2016

The Editorial Board for the journal Materials Horizons of the Royal Society of Chemistry has chosen Markus Niederberger, Multifunctional Materials, among others as outstanding reviewer in 2016 based on the number, timeliness and quality of reports completed. Read more 

29.03.2017 | Awards

Jan Vermant Nominated Outstanding Reviewer for Soft Matter in 2016

Jan Vermant, Soft Materials, has been nominated as Outstanding Reviewer for the journal Soft Matter of the Royal Society of Chemistry. The reviewers have been chosen based on the number, timeliness and quality of the reports completed over the last 12 months. Read more 

23.03.2017 | Awards

Nicola Spaldin Receives L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science Award

ETH Professor Nicola Spaldin will today be honoured for her revolutionary research in the field of materials science. In Paris, she is set to receive the L'Oréal-UNESCO For Women in Science award for Europe, which carries prize money of 100,000 euros. Read more 

10.03.2017 | Awards

Title of Professor Awarded to Dr. Claude Ederer

The ETH Board awarded the title of Professor to Dr. Claude Ederer (*1972), currently Senior Scientist and Lecturer at ETH Zurich, as Adjunct Professor at ETH Zurich. Claude Ederer is a globally recognised expert in the field of materials theory of ferroic systems. Before joining ETH Zurich in 2012, he worked at a number of renowned universities in the United States and Ireland. Congratulations! Read more 

24.02.2017 | Awards

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship for Dr. Hanumantha Rao Vutukuri

Dr. Hanumantha Rao Vutukuri, postdoc in the Soft Materials group, has obtained a Marie Curie Fellowship for his work on active colloidal systems. Roa will be focussing on how to use active particles to build new materials (in a collaboration with Caltech), and try to undertsand collective phenomena is such sytems. Read more 

03.02.2017 | Awards

Marie Skłodowska-Curie Individual Fellowship for Dr. Chiara Gattinoni

With great pleasure we announce that Dr. Chiara Gattinoni, postdoctoral researcher at Materials Theory, has been awarded a Marie Curie Fellowship for her work on "Properties across dimensions: an atomistic computational study of bismuth ferrite surfaces and nanocrystals". Dr. Gattinoni will focus on the surface- and nano-science of bismuth ferrite with an eye towards applications in catalysis and photovoltaics. Read more 

Show more news items 
Page URL:
Sun May 28 19:49:56 CEST 2017
© 2017 Eidgenössische Technische Hochschule Zürich